Avet Rubeni Terterian: Symphony Nos. 3 And 4

Κλασική Μουσική

“Avet Rubeni Terterian: Symphony Nos. 3 And 4”


Τιμή: €15.00

Sogomon Komitas Shogher djan.
Avet Terterian Symphonies Nos. 3 & 4.
Uknown Name Traditional Noobar-Noobar.


Vahe Hovanesian (Duduk), Tigran Aleksanyan (Duduk), Vahe Hovanesian (Zurna).

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra – Kirill Karabits.

Armenian composer Avet Rubeni Terterian’s third and fourth symphonies were written in the mid-1970’s, during one of his most prolific periods as a composer. Kirill Karabits and the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra make a compelling case for these rarely performed works. Terterian is regarded in his homeland as a giant of twentieth century Armenian music, and as the founder of his nation’s progressive school of composers. The backbone of his achievement is enshrined in eight symphonies, which Terterian composed over two decades from 1969 onwards; a ninth was in progress at the time of his death. In summing them up, he wrote: “We are all living on the threshold of a terrible apocalyptic judgement. It has always seemed to me that my symphonies are a cry of the soul for salvation and for the forgiveness of sins.”