French Piano Concertos

Κλασική Μουσική

“French Piano Concertos”

12 CD

Τιμή: €40.00

  • Alkan: Concerto da Camera in A minor Op. 10 No. 1
  • Alkan: Concerto da Camera in C sharp minor Op. 10 No. 2
  • Alkan: Concerto da Camera in C sharp minor Op. 10 No. 3
  • Boieldieu: Piano Concerto in F
  • Boulanger, N: Fantaisie variee
  • Chaminade: Concertstuck, Op. 40
  • Debussy: Fantasie for piano and orchestra
  • Fauré: Ballade in F sharp major for solo piano or piano & orchestra, Op. 19
  • Françaix: Double Piano Concerto
  • Françaix: Piano Concerto
  • Franck, C: Les Djinns, Op. 45
  • Franck, C: Piano Concerto No. 2 in B minor, Op. 11
  • Franck, C: Symphonic Variations for piano & orchestra, M46
  • Hahn, R: Piano Concerto in E major
  • Indy: Symphonie sur un chant montagnard, Op. 25
  • Lalo: Piano Concerto in F minor
  • Massenet: Piano Concerto in E flat major
  • Milhaud: 5 Études, Op. 63
  • Milhaud: Ballade, Op. 61
  • Milhaud: Fantaisie Pastorale, Op. 188
  • Milhaud: Le Carnaval d’Aix, Op. 83b
  • Milhaud: Piano Concerto No. 1, Op. 127
  • Milhaud: Piano Concerto No. 2, Op. 225
  • Milhaud: Piano Concerto No. 3, Op. 270
  • Milhaud: Piano Concerto No. 4, Op. 295
  • Milhaud: Piano Concerto No. 5, Op. 346
  • Pierné, G: Piano Concerto in C minor, Op. 12
  • Poulenc: Concerto in D minor for Two Pianos & Orchestra
  • Poulenc: Les animaux modèles, FP 111
  • Poulenc: Piano Concerto
  • Ravel: Piano Concerto in D major (for the left hand)
  • Ravel: Piano Concerto in G major
  • Roussel: Piano Concerto in G Major, Op. 36
  • Saint-Saëns: Africa – Fantasie for piano & orchestra Op. 89
  • Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D major Op. 17
  • Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 22
  • Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 3 in E-flat major Op. 29
  • Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 4 in C minor, Op. 44
  • Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 5 in F major, Op. 103 ‘Egyptian’
  • Tailleferre: Ballade

This gorgeous set is dedicated to piano concertante works from the pens of French composers – infinitely varied compositions that nevertheless each bear the unmistakable flavor of their native idiom. The French piano concerto was a late arrival on the European stage, and even then many French composers would opt to combine piano and orchestra outside the confines of strict concerto form. This set hones in on the genre’s heyday along with two precursors: a two-movement Concerto in F (1792) by the ‘French Mozart’ Boieldieu and the early Concerti da camera Op.10 (1832–38) by the maverick genius Alkan. The set begins with the five piano concertos that traverse Saint-Saëns’s career, along with concertante pieces he composed in the 1880s during a 20-year hiatus between his Fourth (1875) and Fifth (1896). The ’80s were fertile for Saint-Saëns’s contemporary Franck, as well, who returned to the piano after decades focusing on the organ and on choral music to create such piano concertante masterworks as Les Djinns and the Variations symphoniques. The latter work was an influence on Claude Debussy’s Fantaisie, in terms of the roles assigned to the orchestra and solo piano and the work’s structure, and like Franck before him, Debussy would disown this youthful work to move in a new direction – surprising given the warm reception enjoyed today by the early works of both composers. The influence of Saint-Saëns and Franck would extend to several of Debussy’s contemporaries, as well. Jules Massenet’s Concerto in E flat, begun in his early twenties, but only finished at the turn of the century after his many successful operas, arrived too late for the shifting tastes of the time, which had turned their backs on romantic virtuosity in favor of the impressionistic and neo-classical. Three of the group ‘Les Six’ figure on this set: Francis Poulenc and the charm and wit of his Concertos for one and for two Pianos, Germaine Tailleferre and the impressionistic orientalism of her Ballade, and the prolific Darius Milhaud who contributes no less than five piano concertos and four other concertante pieces. Albert Roussel and Reynaldo Hahn, though older than the members of ‘Les Six’, would only come to write piano concertos in their 50s, well into the inter-war period. Hahn’s concerto is featured here in a very special remastered historic recording from 1937, with the composer at the podium and the renowned Brazilian pianist Magda Tagliaferro as soloist.

Αναστάσιος Τσούφης

Στο ιστολόγιο της Μουσικής Προσφοράς, παρουσιάζονται LP - CD - SACD - DVD - Blu-Ray Kλασικής Mουσικής & Jazz. Επικοινωνήστε μαζί μας προκειμένου να επαληθεύσουμε την άμεση διαθεσιμότητά τους και παραλάβετε την παραγγελία σας είτε από το κατάστημά μας είτε στο χώρο σας με αντικαταβολή. τηλ: 210 6230 343