Frederick Ashton: The Dream – Symphonic Variations – Marguerite And Armand

Κλασική Μουσική

«Frederick Ashton: The Dream – Symphonic Variations – Marguerite And Armand”


Τιμή: €30.00

César Auguste Franck Symphonic Variations.
Ferencz Liszt Marguerite and Armand.
Felix Mendelssohn The Dream.


Akane Takada (Dancer), Steven McRae (Dancer), Vladimir Muntagirov (Dancer), Marianela Nunez (Dancer).

Charles Cole (Director),

Kevin O' Hare (Director).

Frederick Ashton, The Royal Ballet.

Orchestra of the Royal Opera House – Michel Plasson.

Three contrasting ballets by The Royal Ballet’s Founder Choreographer Frederick Ashton: The Dream (1964) is an enchanting adaptation of Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream to music by Mendelssohn. Symphonic Variations (1946) is an early Ashton masterpiece, and a breathtaking, abstract work on the beauty of pure movement. Marguerite and Armand (1963), here danced by former Royal Ballet Principal Zenaida Yanowsky and Guest Artist Roberto Bolle, is a tragic love story of great lyric beauty. The Orchestra of the Royal Opera House is conducted by Emmanuel Plasson. ‘First-rate dancing in an Ashton triple bill that offers comedy, serenity and demi-monde ardour’ (The Stage). ‘Saying farewell to the Royal Ballet after 23 years, Yanowsky shows her quality as an actress, a dancer and a star. There’s a grand sweep to her movement, while her alert stage presence makes tiny moments count … It’s a very moving goodbye’ (The Independent).